Jan 06, 2021

Statewide Computer Science Teacher Workforce Grant Awarded to GWAEA

The Future Ready Act passed last June, Statewide Computer Science Grant Awarded To G W A E Aestablishing science requirements for districts to address beginning July 2022 and July 2023. Corey Rogers and Stacy Behmer have already been leading statewide computer science efforts for Grant Wood AEA, and have piloted computer science professional development in area schools. Their commitment to computer science instruction has prepared them for this new statewide initiative.

The team created this smore, shared with district leaders and educators, demonstrates a timeline and plan to align with Future Ready requirements. After this guide was created, the Iowa Department of Education announced the Computer Science Professional Development Incentive Fund (CSPDIF) to support districts with meeting the CS requirements in the Future Ready Act. The Grant Wood team surveyed districts to collect information about their current status with regards to computer science requirements, then took that information and worked with the other eight AEAs to submit a grant application for funding from the CSPDIF.

On December 15th, Governor Reynolds announced statewide recipients of this funding, including $467,000 to support high school computer science across the state thanks to efforts from Grant Wood AEA’s team as well as the other eight AEAs. “I’m really proud of the collaborative effort.” says Rogers, “This work is exciting because it helps both classroom teachers and AEA consultants build a CS network and community within our state to support and grow this important work.”

This grant award will allow 28 teachers from 15 districts to engage in fully funded, CS standards modules provided by AEA Learning Online, and 22 teachers from 15 districts to engage in high quality professional development in order to teach Code.org’s CS Principles as a high school course. The Grant Wood Computer Science team, composed of Amber Bridge, Sara Whitt, Emily Logan, Laura Musser, Dianna Geers, Corey & Stacy, plans on communicating additional information and opportunities to those included in this grant in mid-January and will communicate additional CS supports for all Grant Wood AEA districts in the near future.